December 8, 2021

T20 World Cup in the UAE and Oman

2 min read

The International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed today that the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will be held in other countries—UAE and Oman—as India continues to struggle against COVID-19. The BCCI said that they would remain hosts of the even. The updated venue for cricket T20 World Cup sessions are set at the Dubai International Stadium, the Sharjah Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

This edition of the T20 World Cup is significant for being the first, given that the West Indies beat England at the final of the last World Cup in 2016, which was held at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

In preparation for the World Cup, the BCCI had nine venues in India as part of a list for the 16-team tournament. The world’s largest cricket stadium, located in Ahmedabad, was reserved to host the Final on November 14. The current situation in India, among other concerns, casted doubt on the continent’s capability to host the prestigious 12BET-listed event.

There were certain measures taken to make sure that the event goes unhindered, although the BCCI was still forced to suspend the event following a breach in the “tournament bubble.” There were also reports that some staff and several players had become infected with the dreaded virus. The result was as expected—the tournament was canceled then, even with the ICC nominating the UAE as a back-up venue for the event.

The move to the UAE became final when the BCCI top brass convened in Dubai in May, holding meetings with local government officials and the Emirates Cricket Board. The organization also announced that the second half of the competition was to be held in the UAE. The IPL slated the resumption of the season on September 19, according to previous reports, with the final match slated for a possible October 14 play date.

Statements from Acting ICC CEO Geoff Allardice, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah, and others assured the public that every effort has been made and every team is safe under the “bio-secure environment” of the tournament. They also guaranteed that they will “work closely with the BCCI, the Emirates Cricket Board, and the Oman Cricket Board” to ensure that all audiences, including fans fond of cricket betting in Asia, will enjoy these matches unhindered.

The ICC confirmed on Tuesday that Round 1 will be composed of eight teams, including Oman, Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, and Namibia. The other teams included are Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, and Scotland. There will also be three play-off games, two semi-finals, and a final after all matches are completed.