July 29, 2021

All you need to know about Euro 2020 Group draw

3 min read

In 2019, the qualifying campaign saw 20 teams guarantee their spot in next year’s UEFA Euro 2020, while the final four was decided by play-offs last year. The matches of the Euro 2020 were initially scheduled to be held at stadiums in 12 different cities across Europe. Earlier, UEFA reaffirms commitment in staging the 2020 edition of European Championship despite the threat of COVID-19.

Last year, UEFA announced that their largest European Championship men’s soccer tournament was called off and will resume after a year due to the threat of the coronavirus pandemic. The Euro 2020 will now take place from June 11 to July 11 in 2021. The venues for the said competition to be staged next year confirmed to be the same. Here is the result of the EURO 2020 Group draw held in 2019:

Group A (Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales): The games in this group will be hosted by Rome and Baku, giving Italy a guaranteed spot in the final as Stadio Olimpico will be one of the venues. Group A consists of TurkeyItaly, Wales and Switzerland with their games set to be played in Rome and Baku. The tournament’s opening game will see Joachim Low’s side host Turkey in Rome on 12 June.

Group B (Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia): Group B will see Belgium, Denmark, Finland and Russia all face off in games to played across Copenhagen and Saint Petersburg. This group is almost complete before the draw was even made, as Denmark and Russia set to host the games. Roberto Martinez’s side won all 10 of their games during the qualifiers that put them on top seed.

Group C (Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia): Austria, Netherlands, and Ukraine will be joined by North Macedonia, who will have their maiden appearance in a major tournament in Group C with matches to be staged in Amsterdam and Bucharest. Macedonia captain Goran Pandev scored the only goal of the match that gave the Balkan nation a 1-0 win away to Georgia.

Group D (England, Croatia, Scotland (hosts), Czech Republic): Scotland, who have never reached any major tournament since 1998 World Cup, will join Croatia, Czech Republic, England in Group D, set to played in Glasgow and London. Gareth Southgate’s World Cup semi-finalists will begin their campaign against Croatia at Wembley on 14 June.

Group E (Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia): Poland, Spain and Sweden will be joined by Slovakia in Bilbao and Dublin following Michal Duris’ extra-time goal that helped Slovakia to a 2-1 win against Northern Ireland in a Euro 2020 play-off final at Windsor Park. The win takes Slovakia though to their second consecutive Euro finals and prevents Northern Ireland from repeating their feat four years ago.

Group F (Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany): Defending champions Portugal, World Cup winner France and underdog Germany will be joined by Hungary in Budapest and Munich. Hungary made a dramatic late comeback at the empty Puskas Arena to qualify, defeating Iceland who had been two minutes away from sealing their place. This group is by called the “Group of Death”.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you. Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2021 12betinfo.com All Rights Reserved.